The Instagram screen-shot notification might be a major concern to those who screenshot everything on Instagram! Actually, they cannot be blamed, because, with all these engaging and fun content on Instagram, it requires a great attempt to resist the screenshot temptation.

But you might find it a relief if you know when and where exactly does the Instagram notify others that you have screenshot them. Let’s see what Instagram does in terms of sending notifications in any of the following cases:

  • If you Screenshot someone else’s story

Instagram once started to send notifications for screened stories on February 2018, but they stopped right after a few months, in June 2018. Now you can screenshot any story anonymously.

Alternative: You can share the story you want with another person so that it will be sent to your DM inbox. But the saved message will be deactivated once the story disappears.

Instagram story screenshot notification
Story screenshot notification is not available right now
  • If you screenshot videos and images in ordinary posts

Fortunately, no one, even the post owner, won’t have a clue when and from which content you took the screenshot. So, you can now take your time and take as many screenshots as you want on and no one will ever know (except for the Instagram itself).

Alternative: You can bookmark the post you want to keep. Just tap on the bookmark icon under the post, and it will be saved to your Instagram. But the saved post will disappear if the owner deletes the original post.

  • If you screenshot Instagram live

No one will be notified about a screenshot taken from their Instagram live. Instagram has not yet announced such a feature in its future updates, so relax and live screenshot!

  • If you screenshot comments on Instagram

Fortunately, there is no such feature to Instagram, yet. You can freely screenshot comments and use them in case of abuse or any required case.

  • If you screenshot in DM

For text messages, if screenshot, Instagram won’t send any notification. Also, the images sent in a DM are not included in the notification. But if you screenshot a photo the other person has taken through DM camera and sent to you, then there will go an Instagram screenshot notification for them. You’d better ask for permission first and then screenshot their photo.

Taking a screenshot from photos posted in DM taken directly by DM camera will notify the owner

Is Instagram going to re-activate screenshot notification for stories and other parts of the platform?

There has not yet been any news indicating that. But it is not far from the expectation that in the near future (or any time from now) they will add such a feature to the app and not inform us about it. So, always keep an open eye on their newest updates and changes.

Are there any third-party app to send you an Instagram screenshot notification?

No, there’s no such an application, and those calming to do so for you are a scam. Beware of these apps and do not give them access to your Instagram account.

Is Instagram screenshot notification of any advantage for the users?

Yes, and no.

The advantage is that it keeps people from stealing the work of others and rises a sense of self-awareness among Instagram users. The downside of the feature is that if someone is abused on Instagram and wants to gather documents and clues anonymously, screenshot notifications make it quite impossible. But what is most obvious is that it is both for and against the privacy issue of Instagram users, and to balance this matter is a job that can’t be done in the course of weeks and months.

Summary
How does Instagram Screenshot Notification Work?
Article Name
How does Instagram Screenshot Notification Work?
Description
They once started to send Instagram screenshot notification for screened stories on February 2018, but stopped right after a few months, in June 2018. Now you can screenshot any story anonymously.
Author
Publisher Name
instazood
Publisher Logo