Instagram is actually one of the best platforms that exist today, where you can directly share pictures, videos and live-stream videos with your followers. However, keeping up with Instagram updates can be hard and annoying sometimes.

Before deleting your account from Instagram, think about it again, because you won’t be able to restore your Instagram account once it’s permanently removed. You’ll lose your entire profile and all the pictures, videos, archives, hashtags, followings and followers with it.

In this article, I am going to show you how to deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account.

How to Temporary Delete (Deactivate) your Instagram Account

If you want a break from Instagram for a while, then follow these steps on how to deactivate your Instagram account:

1- Go to Instagram.com

2- Log in to your Instagram account

3- Go to your profile and click edit profile

4- Scroll down until you see the “Temporarily Disable My Account.”

How to Delete an Instagram Account Permanently or Temporarily

5- Choose a reason for leaving Instagram.

6- Re-enter your password in the text field.

How to Delete an Instagram Account Permanently or Temporarily

7- Once you tap on the “Temporarily Disable Account” button, your username will disappear from Instagram search.

Note! You can only disable your Instagram account once a week. Also, if you want to re-activate your Instagram account, all you have to do is log in to your Instagram account. You can log in from the web or directly from the app on your device.

How to Delete your Instagram Account Permanently?

If you need to get rid of your Instagram account once and for all, then follow these steps on how to delete your account permanently:

1- Log in to your Instagram account from the web and go to this link to find the page where you can delete your Instagram account.

2- Choose a reason for deleting your Instagram account

How to Delete an Instagram Account Permanently or Temporarily

3- Re-enter your Instagram password and click on the red “Permanently Delete My Account” button.

Note! Remember that once you press the button, all your pictures, videos, likes, comments, followings, and all other data will be removed forever. They’re not recoverable once deleted.

Are you thinking about deleting your Instagram account, as well as other social media accounts? Feel free to share your reasons with us in the comments below.