Instagram is testing a new way to share posts with a limited group of friends. Called favorites or close friends, the feature tries to update the earlier social network encouraging people to post more often by giving them more control over their followers.
You can use Instagram Direct to send photos and videos to up to 15 friends at a time. Unlike standard Instagrams, which can be viewed by the general public or by all of your followers (depending on your privacy settings), Instagram Direct is totally private.
And unlike Snapchat, Instagram won’t delete your message after 24 hours. So if you’re hoping to remember your communications for a while, Instagram might be the photo-messaging app for you.